

19 May 2023

MEMORANDUM FOR RECORD

SUBJECT: MG Adna R. Chaffee Jr. Award Program (Legends of Armor) SOP

1. Scope. The MG Adna R. Chaffee Jr. Award Program (Legends of Armor) is an annual award which recognizes the finest Soldiers, who have made long lasting contributions, within the Armored Force. This is the highest honor presented on behalf of all Armor and Cavalry Soldiers past and present.

2. Purpose. To provide policies and procedures for the selection criteria, nomination, and recognition bestowed upon Legends of Armor.

- 3. Eligibility.
 - a. Retired Officers or Noncommissioned Officers who served in the Armor or Cavalry Branch regardless of period or component.
 - b. Nominees must be retired from active service for a minimum of five years.
 - c. Nominees must have served admirably and retired in good standing.
 - d. Historical nominees must have served in WWII or prior.

4. Nomination. The nomination board will consist of the Chief of Armor, the Armor School Command Sergeant Major, Armor School Deputy Commandant, the Director of the Office of the Chief of Armor (OCOA), Office of the Chief of Armor Command Sergeant Major, and the Armor School Historian. The board will select at least two nominees for each category.

- a. Historical Figure: Solider, rank and country of service immaterial, who has contributed significantly to the Armor or Cavalry branch up to and through WWII.
- b. Officer: rank and country of service immaterial, who has contributed significantly to the Armor branch since WWII.
- c. NCO: rank and country of service immaterial, who has contributed significantly to the Armor branch since WWII.
- 5. Criteria. Each nomination will be considered across the following criteria:
 - a. Contributed to the transformation of the mounted force to fight and win in Armored combat.

ATZK-CD SUBJECT: MG Adna R. Chaffee Jr. Award Program (Legends of Armor) SOP

- b. Offered a vision for the future of the mounted warfighting force that significantly improved lethality, mobility, and survivability.
- c. Developed innovations in equipment, materiel, or doctrine that significantly enhanced the effectiveness of the mounted element of the combat arms.
- d. Exemplified professional excellence in demeanor, correspondence, and leadership on issues relevant to mounted warfare.
- e. Displayed a zeal for Soldiering through leadership skills and recognized the sacrifice and achievements of subordinates.

6. Selection. All nominated personnel will be presented for review to currently active Armor General Officers, nominative CSMs, and select retired Armor personnel. Nomination packets, at a minimum, will include a biography and short explanation of noteworthy contributions made with the Armor and or Cavalry communities. Each selection stakeholder can vote for a nominee in each category, via phone or email to the contact below. The top vote getters for each category will be selected for enshrinement. Any ties will be decided by the senior member of the nomination board.

7. Enshrinement. Personnel selected for enshrinement will be officially announced during the annual Armor branch week at Fort Benning, GA. This week fluctuates annually between the end of April and the beginning of May. Enshrinement will include the production a professional portrait, including significant contributions and a biography, which will be displayed at Headquarters' Building of the Armor School at Fort Benning, with final residence amongst the Armor and Cavalry historical collection.

8. Point of contact is the Office of the Chief of Armor, (706) 626-8265, DSN: 626-8265, <u>usarmy.benning.mcoe.mbx.armor-ocoa@mail.mil</u>.

Encl

MICHAEL J. SIMMERING Brigadier General, U.S. Army 54th Chief of Armor

Enclosure: MG Adna R. Chaffee Jr. enshrined members (19 MAY 2023):

NAME	Country	Date of Enshrinement
GEN George S. Patton Jr.	USA	1995
MG Israel Tal "Talik"	Israeli Defense Forces	1996
MG Moshe "Musa" Peled	Israeli Armour Corp	1997
GEN Creighton W. Abrams	USA	1998
GEN Donn A. Starry	USA	2005
GEN Frederick M. Franks	USA	9-Sep-2014
MG Adna R. Chaffee Jr.	USA	1-May-2015
GEN David D. McKiernan	USA	18-Aug-2015
BG Samuel D. Rockenbach	USA	2-May-2018
GEN William S. Wallace	USA	2-May-2018
SMA William A. Connelly	USA	2-May-2018
LTG Paul E. Funk	USA	1-May-19
BG Casimir Pulaski	USA/Poland	1-May-19
CSM Benjamin C. Palacios	USA	1-May-19
GEN Eric K. Shinseki	USA	2020
GEN Gordon R. Sullivan	USA	2020
COL Charles Young	USA	2020
CSM David L. Lady	USA	2020
Native American Soldiers	USA	23-Apr-21
GEN Crosbie Saint	USA	23-Apr-21
LTG Daniel Van Voorhis	USA	23-Apr-21
MG Robert J. Sunell	USA	23-Apr-21
SMA Jack L. Tilley	USA	23-Apr-21
SSG Lafayette G. Pool	USA	23-Apr-21
GEN Jacob L. Devers	USA	6-May-22
GEN John N. Abrams	USA	6-May-22
CSM John Stephens	USA	6-May-22
GEN James D. Thurman	USA	4-May-23
SMA Kenneth O. Preston	USA	4-May-23
MSG Ernest R. Kouma	USA	4-May-23